How to cancel your customers PayPal subscription

There may be times where you would need to cancel your customers pre approved payments (subscriptions). To do this, please follow the steps below.

If you are using the new Paypal interface, follow these steps:

1. Login to Paypal
2. On the top menu, go to "More"
3. Then go to "reports" (it is in the drop down under "more")
4. Under "other reports" near bottom, click on "Recurring payments - user profiles"
5. Choose "active" from the drop down and click the "View" button.

You should then see a list of all subscriptions from users and should see a way to cancel them from there.

If you are using the old Paypal, follow these steps:

1. Login to Paypal
2. Click on "profile" link near top.
3. Click "My Selling Tools"
4. Under the section "Getting paid and managing my risk" (may have to click to open it if it is not expanded) - click the "update" button under "My automatic payments"
5. You should see a list of customers that can be filtered by the options in the drop down menu the same way as the above options for the newer version of Paypal.

 

Note: Your customers can also cancel their own subscription through their paypal account. To make that a little easier, you can put a cancellation button on your site by going to "OptimizeMember > Paypal Buttons > Paypal Subscr Cancellation Button" and add the shortcode into a "custom html/shortcode" element in the live editor.